Loro Parque, Biosphere entity, presents the Gorilla Award 2019 and 2020

The headquarters of the Presidency of the Government of the Canary Islands hosted the presentation of the prestigious Gorilla Prize 2019 and 2020 this Friday, 1 October.

The award is now in its eighteenth year and highlights environmental responsibility, focusing on strategies and actions to conserve biodiversity and the sustainable use of resources.

Due to the pandemic, in this edition the 2020 award was presented to Dr. Robin Ganzert, CEO and president of the American Humane Association, as well as to the recipients of the 2021 award, the emeritus directors of the Loro Parque Fundación.

This award is in recognition of a lifetime of dedication to nature conservation from different fields of action, and for having been part of the Foundation's conservation successes, including saving 10 species of parrots from extinction. The award winners are Dr. Tomás de Azcárate y Bang, President of the Institute for Responsible Tourism; Dr. Susan L. Clubb; Dr. Nigel Collar; Dr. Wolfgang Grummt (posthumously); Prof. Dr. Wolf M. Iwand; Povl Jorgensen; Rosemary Low; Dr. Joachim Steinbacher (posthumously); John Stoodley (posthumously); Prof. Ian Swingland Dsc; Juan Sebastián Villalba-Macías; Dr. David Waugh; Dr. Roland Wirth; and René Wüst.

Wolfgang Kiessling, President of the Loro Parque Company, took the opportunity to highlight the commitment of the laureates to the protection and conservation of animals and their natural habitats, especially in the current context, in which overpopulation is causing irreversible damage to nature and the species that inhabit it.

Find out more information about the event here.