The Thompson Okanagan Biosphere Commitment Hall of Fame 2021

Winners of 2021 Biosphere Commitment Hall of Fame within The Thompson Okanagan region have been rewarded for their initiatives towards sustainability

The Thompson Okanagan Biosphere Commitment Hall of Fame has announced the 2021 winners in three different categories - Sustainable Project of the Year, Eco Efficiency Excellence and at least the Pioneer Award. The award winners who have been rewarded are strongly contributing to the responsibility and sustainability of tourism, by taking action and bringing new initiatives to life to benefit the region and communities.

Monte Creek Ranch Winery won this year's category of Sustainable Project of the Year, for their effort in protecting the endangered B.C. badger with a fundraiser and awareness campaign, to protect the last 350 badgers left in B.C. Thanks to the actions of The Monte Creek Winery team, $900 were fundraised in collaboration with the Badgers in BC Society and BC Wildlife Park. 

The award Eco Efficiency Excellence 2021 was given to Kelowna Yacht Club who participated in several TOTA Biosphere programs to improve their eco efficiency. To do so, they implemented an internal recycling- and ‘Save energy’ program, participated in the Eco Efficiency Program itself, created an environment team and policy. Kelowna Yacht Club intends to continue its sustainability programmes, also taking into account the Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations 2030 Agenda.

Tim Rodgers from Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel was awarded the Pioneer Award 2021. Rodgers has made changes to the hotel's own brand, implementing sustainable choices and initiatives, becoming the first General Manager to hold the Green Key Eco-qualification in Kamloops. Since then, he has continued to work towards the continuous improvement of his properties, highlighting his best practices with recognition such as this magnificent award from the destination.

From Biosphere and the Responsible Tourism Institute we are proud to see how the entities and destinations of our community continue to move forward on their path towards continuous improvement and the alignment of their management with sustainability, leading projects and initiatives such as these three winners of the Thompson Okanagan Biosphere Commitment Hall of Fame 2021.