New edition 2023 of the Skål Biosphere Sustainable Special Award

For the fifth consecutive year, Skål International continues its collaboration with Biosphere© and the Responsible Tourism Institute to award the "Skål Biosphere Sustainable Special Award" to each of the winners of the Sustainable Tourism Awards 2023.

Skål International Sustainable Tourism Awards 2023

Skål International, an Affiliate Member of UNWTO whose mission is to promote the development of responsible, accessible, sustainable and universal tourism, maintains for the fifth consecutive year the collaboration with Biosphere© and the Responsible Tourism Institute to award the "Skål Biosphere Sustainable Special Prize" which will be given to each of the winners of the Sustainable Tourism Awards, and will be selected based on the sustainability pillars of the RTI.

In this edition, Biosphere© will give each winner a free one-year subscription to the Biosphere Sustainable platform, where they will be able to create their own personalised Sustainability Plans for continuous improvement and recognition of their company's or organisation's efforts.

Skål International's Sustainable Tourism Awards programme aims to give visibility and recognition to entities in the tourism industry that are working to align their models with sustainability. To this end, from 2022, Skål International is working in partnership with the World Tourism Organization to give these awards a greater dimension.

Who can apply for the awards?

The Skål International Sustainable Tourism Awards are open annually to all public and private sector companies, educational institutions, NGOs and governmental bodies involved in tourism worldwide.

All sustainable operations and activities must be implemented by the participating entities, and no initiatives that are not yet implemented or under development are allowed to be submitted.

Why should you enter these awards?

  • Improve your visibility and gain recognition for your outstanding performance in sustainable and responsible tourism.
  • Increase your contacts and present your products and services to tourism professionals around the world.
  • Gain media coverage among all Skål members worldwide and our international press contacts.
  • Collect the award in person and experience the networking sessions and camaraderie of the Skål World Congress.

About this edition

The official announcement of the winners of the Skål International Sustainable Tourism Awards will take place during the Skål International World Congress 2023, which will be organised in Quebec, Canada, from 6 to 10 December.

The winners will be invited to collect their trophy in person at the awards ceremony. Skål International will cover the cost of accommodation and meals at one of the Congress hotels for the duration of the stay offered and travel expenses will be excluded.


The deadline for submission of projects is 30 June 2023 at 23.59 CET. Participation is free of charge, and it is highly recommended to write the content of the registration form in English as the judges are of different nationalities.

You can register here.

For more information about Skål International and these awards, be sure to visit their website.